2011 National Poetry Week

2011 National Poetry Week

The 2011 National Poetry Week is just around the corner here in Australia (September 5-11) and Australian Poetry has the whole week planned.

Here’s what it’s about (from the horses mouth):

‘2011 National Poetry Week features five days of activity including: WRITE, BUY, SHARE, LIVE and CELEBRATE Australian poetry, to raise the awareness, appreciation, and participation with this engaging art form.’ (Australian Poetry)

This is the week:

‘Monday, 5 September: WRITE Australian poetry day – A day devoted to the promotion of all Australian’s embracing their inner poet and writing……physically, spatially, digitally, privately, wildly!

Tuesday, 6 September: BUY Australian poetry day – A day devoted to the promotion of buying Australian poetry publications in all their forms: books, chapbooks, ebooks, journals, gift books.

Wednesday, 7 September: SHARE Australian poetry day – share the joy of Australian poetry in all its forms: at work, at home, at play, with friends, lovers, strangers, on a stage, in a library, on a train…..

Thursday, 8 September: LIVE Australian poetry day – be liberated to find poetry and the inspiration for poems in every part of life.

Friday, 9 September: CELEBRATE Australian poetry day – the joy of Australian poetry however you embrace it. This day should probably involve cake! ‘ (Australian Poetry)

This is one of the things you can do:

As part of the celebrations I would like to invite my regular readers to send me a poem and I will plop it on my blog (all things considered 😉 ). I would especially like to encourage the ‘non-poets’ among you to participate. You don’t have to be Australian either.

You can email me at gbryden at bigpond dot com with your poems.

C’mon, release the inner poet in you! 🙂

24 thoughts on “2011 National Poetry Week

  1. Thanks for pointing me to slpmartin’s great poem on the Tar Sands pipeline going through Nebraska. Poetry week, eh? Well, well, what a time for a blogging urge! Hope all is well down down with your family. Namaste

  2. Afraid there’s not much I can contribute to these…since the extent of my knowledge of Australia comes from educational television…so I’ll just read what you write. 😉

  3. I feel the gauntlet has been thrown down to the biggest non-poet I know. Namely, myself. I am going to try and write a poem for next week. OMG. I am coming out in a cold sweat at the thought. Please be gentle with me, Gabe. I aspire to be Robert Gray but end up sounding more like Dame Edna Everage (have you heard some of her poetry? LOL.)

    Anyhoo. I’m going to do it. It might not be as painful as I think…..

    1. Hahaha – Dame Edna (not up on her poetry 😉 ) – I was hoping you would contribute Selma – you are already a poetic prose writer of great prowess (how’s that for illiteration – hahaha).

    1. you’d be a wonderful poet lauteate – I know what you mean though, having to write a poem on demand about the latest current affair, war or other disaster – can you please wisk up a sonnet about the uprising dear bluebee – haha

Leave a comment