'king in vase' photo by d's other half

Here is another poem (and lovely photos of her proteas) for Day 4 of 2011 National Poetry Week kindly submitted by my ABCPOOL friend d (or dwerombi as she is now known in the POOL).

d is from Werombi, the rural inland, west of Sydney and used to be a ‘mad scientist’ and now does other stuff, including writing stories, poems and participating in the POOL community.

‘Look at me’

You sit still in the vase, and I look at your faces
As you watch humans darting from place to places.

You are proteas whose necks are gracefully curved
You are no good for sale, they think you are ‘perved’.

But we’ve rescued you and set you all free
And you live in our house now, and say ‘look at me’.

So what have you seen and heard during the week?
Some joyous announcements; some whispers more bleak.

You see human life is not much different from flowers
In the spring sunshine and during spring showers.

And you smile back at me in the sun-filled rooms,
With your round pink expressions, your crown-like blooms.

No matter if my news is bright or it’s blue,
“Here’s looking at ME, kid … I’m looking at YOU.”

photo by d's other half

__________________________________

Thanks d – you’re a champion πŸ™‚ Flowers do have so much personality.