I came across this fabulous post from blogger feminist aspie and thought it was a must read for anyone interested in the lives of autistic people from the perspective of an autistic person – rather than always reading about autistic people from the perspective of neurotypical people like me.

Feminist Aspie

Blogger’s Note, written 28/6/2015: Wow. This post is getting a LOT of traffic. It seems to be fairly high up on Google searches for “neurotypical privilege”, and last night it was posted on various social media sites by the wonderful Autistic Self Advocacy Network and my stats have exploded and it’s scary and wonderful. Thank you so much! I wrote this almost two and a half years ago, when I’d only been blogging for a couple of months, so apologies if the wording isn’t perfect. I absolutely stand by everything I’ve written here, but that might not necessarily apply to all my other really old posts that may appear near this one; I’ve learned so much since I started this blog, and I’m so grateful to those of you who have helped me on that journey. If you’re new, which you probably are, you might be interested in checking out my…

View original post 1,160 more words

3 thoughts on “I’m Not Sick: A rant about neurotypical privilege.

Leave a Reply

