Remember this, πŸ™‚ the vege patch three months ago in March (looking a wee bit sparse).

resized vege patch

Vege Patch in March (Autumn 2013)

It’s now nearly the end of May and the vegetable garden is progressing. There has been some minor editing (pulled out the chilli plant; and discovered a pumpkin vine growing near the tomatoes on it’s own volition and gave it some assistance).

The ducks have also had their fair share of the veges, but never mind that!

IMGP3718 (1024x768)

Vege Patch in May (Winter 2013)

Have I told you that I am a silverbeet addict. Could eat the stuff till it comes out of my ears (not a good look combined with all that green stuff in the teeth πŸ˜‰ )

I don’t eat it on it’s own. I boil the silverbeet for quite a while to get rid of the high levels of oxalic acid which is found in the plant. Apparently high levels of oxalic acid can contribute to kidney stones and joint pain.

I then sautΓ©e the cooked silverbeet in a pan with a little bit of olive oil – add some nutmeg and smother with cheese. The dairy also reduces the level of oxalic acid, but I just love cheese.

Yummy!

IMGP3722 (1024x762)

Silverbeet and Other Stuff

Here is the eggplant. Might have to stake that when it gets bigger. But what do I know – I’m just winging this stuff.

IMGP3719 (1024x768)

Eggplant

I need a lot more room in my vege patch so I will start a couple of new beds soon.

I want to grow a lot more tomatoes and obviously more silverbeet πŸ˜‰

And then there is the citrus to plant and the bay leaf tree and …