Jamie Oliver’s Best Friends on the Menu

Jamie Oliver’s Best Friends on the Menu

Breakfast

Cream softens up bitter coffee
while bacon sizzles with eggs over easy.

Lunch

Beer battered fish cosies up to chunky chips,
reading the latest news, undercover, waiting

for salt and vinegar to cut in, with their usual
acerbic wit and biting analysis of current affairs.

Afternoon Tea

Cream takes the edge off the tart
strawberries, creating quite a stir.

Dinner

Will you be a lamb and pass me
the salt and pepper, said Rosemary,
my spaghetti and meatballs
are in need of a little seasoning.

Tomato and basil were side dished,
despite their fresh faced exuberance,
but made a colourful display.

After Dinner

Red wine with cheese platter,
having a natter.

_________________________________________________________________________________

Note: image from Microsoft free images

28 thoughts on “Jamie Oliver’s Best Friends on the Menu

  1. I had to look twice, haha! Nice one, Gabe. Very sharp of you and I like:

    Will you be a lamb and pass me
    the salt and pepper, said Rosemary,
    my spaghetti and meatballs
    are in need of a little seasoning.

    Also the last 2 lines! πŸ™‚

  2. I love the idea of the fish reading the news… such a great take on it! And the meatballs in need of a little seasoning made me giggle. It’s wonderfully cheeky!!!

  3. Lubbly jubbly. Very clever, indeed. I love Jamie Oliver. It’s kind of like a crush but not quite – just a sort of affection. I am, after all, old enough to be his much older sister (ahem.) I love the fresh faced exuberance of the tomato and basil. Just like Jamie. Awesome!

    • ‘lubbly jubbly’ would make a good title Selma – haha – or maybe I should have called it ‘The Naked Chef’s best friends on the menu’ – haha (though he has outgrown that title a bit). I am fond of Jamie Oliver as well (seems like I have ‘known’ him for years) – very impressed at the way he has changed over the years to keep the variety flowing and his work with disenfranchised youth and fighting obesity (the serious side of Jamie).

Leave a Reply

