What happened to

What happened to

yellow rubber duckies, floating with permanent optimism,
tough board books with simple pictures, words and chewed spines,
soft pink and white elephants and squidgy rattles,
tiny stretchy baby suits that were too small too quickly,
(stretch the clothes, not the baby laughed Mum)
nursery rhyme nurseries with stick-on stories,
musical mobiles, warm nightlights and rocking chair
soothing on sleepless nights,
pastel coloured throws, floor mats, and nappy bags
with enough supplies for a trek to Nepal,
baby slings and prams, capsules and car seats,
and choice magazine advice for new parents!

They have all disappeared, along with the babies,
replaced with children who need less scaffolding.

______________________________________________________________________

37 thoughts on “What happened to

    • My youngest is 9 too! It’s going a bit too fast – you are so right – it won’t be long before we are the height of embarrassment to them and they are hiding in their rooms listening to very loud music etc., They will do to us, what we did to our parents (eek!) πŸ™‚

  1. very beautiful and moving gabrielle. the photo really is gorgeous, i just couldnt stop letting my eyes wander in it, stunning really. besides the grace of the image, the detail and composition are striking, i think thats what really grabbed me about it. there’s quite a delicate movement and lines/curves in the composition. it looks very professionally artful, like it could be a wall framed piece large in a gallery/museum, also small a greeting card or a bookcover – its got that thing about it

    • That’s very sweet of you to say tipota – I’m pretty sure Shirl took that photo (he does have that eye) – Tessa does look a little grumpy though πŸ˜‰ indigestion no doubt. Tessa yesterday said she didn’t like the photo in black and white (I do have a colour version – but thought B&W looked better) – she said something like ‘I didn’t live in the olden days’ – haha

  2. Such a moving poem. I can relate. I remember those days of playing for hours with Matchbox cars, watching Postman Pat and Bananas in Pajamas on TV, and playing for hours on the swings in the park. They were special, golden times.

    I still have some little rubber duckies and cars and those pop up books. I won’t ever let them go. That photo is wonderful πŸ˜€

    • Thanks Selma. I did love Postman Pat πŸ™‚ I still have heaps of stuff from the baby days (packed away most of it) but not the rubber ducky. I do love all the stuff you can get for nurseries – love the textures and colours and magic of it all – so much fun. Hated the prams, and car seats – so much stuff needed for such a little thing πŸ˜‰

  3. this is beautiful Gabe and I feel honoured to have provided some of the inspiration. we are loving our days with thomas and know that these early ones are incredibly special… have a wonderous christmas! love to you and all the family,

  4. This is a beautiful write, Gabrielle. I cannot seem to remember when my adult children where babies. My youngest just turned 30 and her youngest is 3. You have given me back some wonderful memories. Thank You!

    • Same to you Kate – Merry Christmas and the best for 2012 πŸ™‚ Having babies is incredibly exhausting and for me it gets better as they get older (but not too old – they can stop at 12, thankyou)

Leave a Reply

