28 thoughts on “Red-Tailed Black Cockatoo (haiku)

  1. The call doesn’t sound as ‘screechy’ as their yellow-cheeked cousins kept as pets. Thanks, Gabe. These ones remind me of the skirts worn by Spanish dancers, lol!

  2. these must be such fun to spot. there are some images i seem to photograph over and over again. i think these birds would be like that for me.

    red-black cockatoo
    ornaments hang in the sky
    Christmas

    • Another wonderful Ku 🙂 thanks Rick. I took that one last year – my camera is still waiting for repairs – but I know what you mean – I have a great desire to photograph those birds and have been seen stalking them along the paths and forests around here (wish I was invisible and made no noise then I might have a hope of getting closer). Some parrots don’t mind you getting close but Cockatoos (esp., these ones) are very secretive and don’t much like humans (who can blame them – poachers catch them and put them on the black market for $50,000 and over – bastards!).

Leave a Reply

