Another Poem for my Penguin Week πŸ˜‰

Penguin Parenting (The Egg)

Pass me our treasure, dearest one,
he said, manoeuvring the egg
to rest upon his feet, to be
covered with thick blubber,
blanketed with white feathers.

What a precious and fine egg it is,
my sweet – the House of FabergΓ©
would be sending a search party,
if they only knew
we were charged with such a jewel.

Now cherished one,
be gone
to the deep waters of the ocean
to feed upon your wildest dreams.
Our sequestered chick is safe.

I will turn my back to agonising
winds that threaten to excise me
from this icy landscape, cruellest
terrain, a place of waiting
for love to return.

I will protect our future.

Be gone,
feed your body and spirit,
you will need the strength,
and soon we will raise our chick
together in this frozen world.

___________________________

Note: The male penguin incubates the egg for months while the female has an extended feeding session in the ocean (only fair πŸ˜‰ ). She comes back when the chick has hatched and looks after the chick while the very hungry male (who hasn’t eaten for months) goes off to feed. When he gets back, they both raise the chick, keeping it warm and feeding regurgitated seafood. Sounds very progressive to me!

Note: image from Microsoft Office (Images and More)