One of the best things about reading a range of blogs by writers and artists is the inspiration for your own writing. Sometimes after I have written a poem I realise that the theme or content of my poem is running along similar lines to those in the work posted on other peoples blogs.

Often I am not even aware of this happening until after I have posted. Othertimes a sparks goes off in my brain and I think ‘I must write a poem about that’.

For example, bluebee’s poem Surface Tension and Aletha’s prose (The sky above, the sky below) on Koi would appear to have had a subconcious effect on my development of a dive so deep. Thanks guys 🙂

Koi slide between currents of water, the water like glass discloses the sky to me. But what do the koi see? What do they think about the clouds above them, the depths of blue? How do they feel breaking the surface and feeling the air, knowing in that brief moment a not-water world that lives above them?  written by Aletha Kuschan

What do fellow bloggers think about this? Does it happen to you too?

13 thoughts on “A quick thought about blogging

    1. I remember that. Paul used to talk about the ‘synchroncity’ that comes with blogging and it’s true – sometimes we get inspiration, othertimes the blogging world just seems to be full of similar ideas by coincident.

  1. It’s wonderful to think that something I wrote inspired some poetry! I do something similar all the time, I get ideas from other people’s work or from their stated ideas. I was telling a friend, just the other day, that I think all artists “steal” things from other art — but the really best theft is the one in which you never get caught — that one in which you have stolen ideas so thoroughly, which yet looks so seamlessly like who you are. In that theft, you really have made the material your own. That’s what I see in your poem. I can believe that my koi word-picture might have sparked something, but the poem is so completely so seamlessly and slip-streamfully yours, Gabe.

    1. Thank you Aletha – beautiful words – yes, you are right and I have read that somewhere else – you cannot help but be influenced by things you read or see, so kind of ‘stealing’ stuff – but then it transforms enough to be your own. There’s a lot of ‘ingredients’ floating in my brain and they all get mixed together and spewed out in different ways.

  2. Thanks, Gabrielle – the inspiration definitely works both ways – your ‘Brisbane River’ poem, along with the ‘Underwater Universe’ series reminded me of the day on the beach that led to my poem ‘Rogue’. I find it a little weird that sometimes when I have an unpublished poem that is a work-in-progress, I will find the same (non-mainstream) subject in other people’s published work – it’s quite fascinating, really.

    1. It is fascinating bluebee – and I see similar themes appearing in blogs that aren’t even aware of each others existance – so it is really just coincidence or synchronicity (though we are often linked in other ways I suppose, through the news and other stuff).

    1. Yes, I am constantly amazed by the subconcious Graham – it’s always playing tricks on me (in a good way) – when I get stuck on a poem I just leave it for weeks/months and then my subconscious does the hard work while I get on with other stuff 🙂

  3. It definitely happens with me too. Other bloggers inspire me all the time. It can be in very subtle ways that aren’t always apparent and then afterwards you go – Oh yeah – and see the link. I love that aspect of blogging!

  4. Hi ya. I am new to your blog but I like what I see and enjoy what I have read so I have subscribed. Hope that you do not mind!

    Patrecia aka misswhiplash

Leave a Reply

