Light it up blue

World Autism Awareness Day

World Autism Awareness Day is on the 1st April and this means the  ‘Light it up blue’ campaign.

More than 500 structures and iconic buildings throughout the world, including the Sydney opera house, Federation Square Melbourne, the Storey Bridge Brisbane, the Empire State Building New York, Torre Agbar Spain, the Kingdom Tower Saudi Arabia will be lit up in bright blue lights.

Autism Awareness, an Australian agency, has a brand new website which is a fantastic resource for those looking for practical help and information on autism spectrum disorder.

This is what they have to say:

It is our nation’s most common developmental disorder, and more children are diagnosed with ASD than childhood AIDS, diabetes and cancer combined. No one knows the cause, there is no cure, but there is hope.

You can show your support by lighting your own blue light bulb at www.autismawareness.com.au

You could also light up your own house or place of work with blue lightbulbs!

 

15 thoughts on “Light it up blue

    • I didn’t know that slpmartin – I knew you were some sort of teacher 🙂 My son had one of the best speech pathologists when we lived in Brisbane – she helped more than any of the other ‘therapists’.

  1. I found a blue bulb in my hardware store. I will use it on Friday. I was lucky to get it because the store is closing down and it was the last one. With all those eco-friendly bulbs we use now you don’t get any colour so I’m really glad I came across it!

    • Lucky you Selma, plus you get to have a look at the Sydney Opera House – I will give Bunnings a go – they sometimes sell them for party lights 🙂 Tessa is getting annoyed with all these autism days – she thinks I am giving Michael a little too much respect – haha.

  2. Wow – that’s a great campaign … I shall have to find a blue lightbulb and join in. 🙂

    I’ve just jogged a memory of ‘blue light discos’ – do you remember them? They should hold them on the day to show support for the campaign.

Leave a Reply

