Julian Assange poem in Poetry24

I am very excited to have my poem Cable (the Julian Assange acrostic poem) published in Poetry24, an online journal of current affairs poetry. Click on this link to get to the poem and the journal.

Poetry24 was launched by UK based Martin Hodges and Clare Kirwan. Their aim is ‘to publish news-related or topical poetry that reflects what’s happening in the world, or current affairs.’

I like that idea a lot and was thinking of doing something like that on my own blog, and then found out it was already happening.

I found out about Poetry24 from reading Stafford’s blog. His poem Coal Seam Poison was recently published at the same place. Thanks Stafford for the heads up.

14 thoughts on “Julian Assange poem in Poetry24

  1. looks great there! so interesting the ‘stop’ and movement
    really has a rhythm that glued my eyes to it and i read it over at least three times. great stuff, gabrielle

    i often avoid reading/watching news because it takes time away and so much is superfluous so i love the idea of poetry about current affairs

    • Thanks Aletha – submitting poetry is a pain in the butt, to be quite frank, but some (like this journal) make it a pleasure (and don’t take a year to respond, if they respond at all) – haha – I’m starting to sound like Squires 😉

  2. Yay. Yay. Yeah yeah. I am so excited for you. I would get my pom poms out and do a few high kicks in your honour if my old knees weren’t so ricketty and creaky. Seriously, it’s like old floorboards in there.

    I am genuinely delighted for you 😀

Leave a Reply

