Idiot Race

Blogger and writer Val B Russell has challenged me to write a poem which includes the word idiot as an adjective (she wrote a poem which included the words ‘idiot letters’ and it reminded me of Bob Dylan’s ‘idiot wind’ and so on and so forth).

So here it is Val πŸ™‚

Dear Lord, please watch over the bogan rev heads who speed!

Idiot Race

You
idiot brain
yes you
in the Subaru Impreza
dying to race
trying to impress her
lead foot
rev head
lead head
in an idiot race
in a hurry to die
are we?
doh!

 

I will pass the challenge back to Val. I challenge you to write a lighthearted, happy type poem and it must include the word ‘globule’ – a word that blogger and novelist Thomma Lyn Grindstaff loves πŸ˜‰ There is no hurry Val – I can wait as long as it takes – bwahahahahaha!

26 thoughts on “Idiot Race

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Idiot Race Β« Gabrielle Bryden's Blog -- Topsy.com

  2. Ok, If you can use ‘idiot’ as an adjective in place of ‘idiotic’ I can use ‘terminus; in the place of ‘terminal’ as in ‘terminal illness’.

    Idiot passenger.

    The bogan got onto the bus
    And spake to the conductor thus:
    “I’m damned if I know,
    Where I’m s’posed to go!”
    Is seems his problem was terminus.

  3. Bugger! It wasn’t good enough to send twice!
    So, I’m thinking of sending it three times… signed idiotic idiot, or is that idiot idiotic? Going home now. πŸ™‚

  4. GLOBULE

    Drop by drop
    Like any teardrop
    Blood letters fall
    In empty heads

    Sink sink sink
    The torpedo sings
    To the vessels of the foam

    Sweat like ice
    In frosty air
    A pearly globule

  5. Oh, and one more thing, this idiot poem of yours is perfection Gabe! “In a hurry to die are we?” LOLOL Have you driven on the roads in Newfoundland by any chance? πŸ˜‰

  6. Oh yeah, those Subaru Impreza idiots really get on my goat. Thankfully, I have a bit of a muscle car myself and I can always take them at the lights. It is fun making them eat my dust. Brilliant poem.

    Globule would have me stumped, though. Now that is a toughie!

    • Haha, thanks Selma – I actually used to drive a Subaru Impreza (which I didn’t own) and all these young guys would be checking out my car (I didn’t realise it was such a ‘muscle car’) – must admit it was fun to drive but I never was into speeding.

Leave a Reply

