Hidden Springs

One foot in front of the other
she stumbled over hot sand,
the sun glaring, impatient
for her to stumble
in the desert, to die
of thirst, to decay
and become sustenance
for the waiting
carrion eaters,
but she knew the secret
of the springs,
the water that surfaced
in hidden places,
enough to keep one alive
in barren lands,
and she kept walking,
one foot in front of the other.

______________

For Val a brave lady who kept walking and for Selma who is ‘ holding on to hard won hopefulness’.

23 thoughts on “Hidden Springs

  1. Thank you for this, Gabrielle. It means so much to me. It is so beautiful it is like a prayer. It says to me that even when you think all is lost, there is still hope, there is still a hidden spring in the desert. It has made my day to read this. β™₯

    1. Thanks Stafford πŸ™‚ I was on the beach and the word oasis kept popping into my head, and then I thought about Billabong (a word that I love purely because of the sound it makes and its association with chocolate iceblocks πŸ˜‰ ) but didn’t think it would work for this poem – but I will still write another one with Billabong in it.

  2. I’m speechless Gabrielle, this was such a loving and beautiful thing to do,thank you. HUGS You are some kind of wonderful Gabrielle Bryden. πŸ™‚

    1. Thanks you Val and big hugs πŸ™‚ Reading your letters is sparking off all sorts of stuff in my head. This poem is also about me in a way but my problems shrink in comparision to what you went through.

  3. Wonderful words here! Liked a much how they have been woven together..

    May I please invite you to join us for Thursday Poets Rally week 38, where all of your entries are to be fully represented after the collection is over. Link one of your poems via the link below and enjoy encouragements from fellow poets.

    http://thursdaypoetsrallypoetry.blogspot.com/

    Sending you loads of wishes-
    from officials at Thursday Poets Rally community
    xoxox

Leave a Reply

