Then the frogs came!

One good thing about all this rain is the huge number of frogs around. My regular readers will know that we built a frog pond in our back yard and this year there has been an explosion in the number of frogs. Maybe we should have put the pond a bit further away from the house – haha. I have had to wear earplugs a couple of nights because of the noise. Have a listen to this!

That’s all frogs you can hear (not cicadas).

We even get frogs in the house sometimes. Tessa noticed this dainty green tree frog on a Christmas bauble (no it is not a fake frog).

Dainty Tree Frog

Spot the frog!

How many frogs can you count in the photo above?

Striped Marsh Frog

Striped Marsh Frog


Every type of frog makes a different sound. The Striped Marsh Frog makes a noise like a game of ping pong.

That's a big frog!

My husband Andrew borrowed my camera and took a couple of photos – beginners luck I say!

Photograph by Andrew Bryden

Photograph by Andrew Bryden

32 thoughts on “Then the frogs came!

  1. I love these froggy sounds and pics and the frog on your Christmas tree – so sweet. Something that surprised me when we walked to the Kosciuszko Summit on Christmas Eve was the chorus of frog sounds coming from behind a ridge of snow (yep, there was a lot of unseasonal snow up there) – didn’t ever think of frogs being that high up πŸ˜€ Hope you’re keeping your heads above water up in QLD – seems as if the floodwaters have peaked now, but what havoc they have wreaked.

    • Thanks bluebee – amazing to get frogs up in the snow! (amazing to get snow on Christmas Eve in summer in Australia – haha) – yes, some havoc those floods have wreaked – let’s hope it is all over now (but as we are only half way through the wet season, I am not totally convinced).

  2. That is so cool. The froggie sound track is amazing. Used to hear quite a few of the striped marsh frogs around the house on Garrigal NP but didn’t know their proper name. Just called them poc frogs. ha. they left some very fine and frothy nests in our pond too. I’ve got the Bromeliad sitting outside with me now and it’s got a little tag in it saying ‘give a frog a home’. I turned it over and read it just now and it says ‘frogs are attracted to Bromeliads because of their ability to hold water in the centre of the plant’. (Is that the frog ability or the plant ability?) Sadly no frogs have moved in. Got any spares that you can ship over? It would be a shame to see a good home go to waste! πŸ™‚

    • Haha – poc frogs is a great name for the Striped Marsh Frog, as that is the exact noise they make (with a few whucks thrown in for good measure). Frogs do love bromeliads – I don’t suppose you can plant it Brad. I’m sure you have some frogs in your area – they just need a bit of encouragement to show their faces.

  3. Love the sounds and the beautiful froggy sights … how wonderful that you have such lovely creatures happy to call your place home … though I can definitely see how those ear plugs would sometimes be necessary! πŸ˜‰

  4. The photos are amazing, and I agree it is beginners luck, although he is a man of many talents, the photo he took of the frog looking at the camera is amazing and makes me so homesick for QLD!

  5. it doesn’t sound too bad when it comes through the speakers πŸ˜€
    i admit to hating frogs ever since, when about ten years old, i stepped on one bare feet. yak.

    • I know what you mean Dhyan – I stepped on one once and it is not a good feeling (plus I put my foot in my gum boot the other day and there was a massive green tree frog (about the size of a man’s hand) in the boot – yuk!!!!!!! My foot came out of that boot quicker as anything – now I keep my boots upside down so they can’t get in – haha.

  6. i counted five, little emerald jewels. and the striped ones are lovely. here the tiny ones are called ‘peepers’ and they roar out a symphony every spring.
    great photos! at least their presence gives a reason to smile with all of the flooding. the sounds are amazing. very unique, our peepers sound very different.

  7. I Love the sound you posted. That was so wonderful I’m going to link to this post on my blog later this evening when my work day is done. You know I love those critters so much Gabriell. They are so tiny and gentle but there is something fierce in them, true survivors. Thank you for posting this, it was wonderful to see, read and hear. hugs

  8. love that sound and photo show!
    The one on the Christmas ball looks like napping. Bravo to Andrew, good pictures… and don’t be jealous Gabe, you’ll be more on the pictures if you are not the only photographer.

    • Haha – that is true Benedicte, I do seem to miss out on being in the pictures (but not so much now that Michael has his own camera). Andrew is a very visual person with an artists eye (so was his mother) – that is how he can design such a pretty frog pond. He looks at the world differently then me, that is for sure πŸ™‚

  9. That is incredible. There is a variety of pitching too which I didn’t expect. The photos are so good. I would be very excited to have all those frogs in my garden. Something about frogs makes me smile. Awesome post!

    • Thanks Selma, we appear to have attracted some different frogs this year – it is exciting and we are often found downstairs at night, with torches, trying to identify them πŸ™‚ One of the reasons I recorded them is that I am trying also to identify the frogs by their sound.

  10. Pingback: Jumping in the new year | CARNET DE DESSINS/BΓ©nΓ©dicte's blog

  11. Amazing – a toad-tally different sound to the one we get in South Africa.
    Here, the frogs mainly give high-pitched squeaks, while the toads have a very loud, low creaking noise.

Leave a Reply

