This is a must see, absolutely hilarious video of Tom Waits in his younger years on Fernwood Tonight.

He plays his famous ‘the piano has been drinking’ but the best bits come after the song, so hang in there for the whole clip. His one liners are absolute classics eg., ‘I’d rather a bottle in front of me than a frontal lobotomy’ – haha.

I was just over at ‘Another Lost Shark‘ where Graham Nunn informs his readers that Tom Waits is releasing his first book of poetry next March. His songs are poetry but this is something very special to look forward to. Pop over to Graham’s blog for more details on the collection.

12 thoughts on “Tom Waits ‘The piano has been drinking’

  1. OMG on the corner of Bedlam and squalor, I lived there too!! lol Tom is goddamn beautiful just precious people. I used to watch Fernwood when I was younger and I love you for posting this for my girl and I to watch.

    1. I’ve watched this so many times Val – he just cracks me up. I remember seeing Tom Waits on a variety show when I was a kid (and he was playing the same song) and I thought, who the hell is this drunk bloke – haha.

Leave a Reply

