Werewolves of London

Warren Zevon 'Excitable Boy'

If I had to pick a thing that I love most in the world, it would be music. Life without music would NOT be good! To me, the epitome of tragedy is a musician who goes deaf.

I’ve been listening to a lot of music lately because of hours of driving – back and forth to Brisbane (a good 4 hour trip by car, one way).  I would go a bit stir crazy if I couldn’t listen to music in the car.

Well anyway, on my last trip I pulled out Warren Zevon’s Excitable Boy. The lyrics to Werewolves of London get me every time. The beginning of the song with

I saw a werewolf with a Chinese menu in his hand …’

uses that classic technique of juxtaposing two unlikely subjects to make you sit up in surprise.

and the second last line:

I saw a werewolf drinking a piña colada at Trader Vic’s
His hair was perfect‘.

The song is not really about werewolves is it. Gotta love an extended metaphor.

Have a listen.

As far as I’m concerned there is not a bad song (well maybe one is not as brilliant as the rest) on this album.