When I post my poems they are mostly still in a draft stage. I write them fairly quickly and throw them out into the blogosphere. I’m lazy like that, but it’s not good enough in the world of poetry, so I’ve decided to get off my backside and do more serious editing.

I posted this poem ‘Lolly Logic’ sometime back and I wasn’t happy with parts of it (didn’t even really think of it as a poem, more as a statement or opinion).

If you don’t know already I am a psychologist, but not working in that area anymore. I worked in the alcohol and other drug field for a decade and found it very depressing. So very little has been achieved and it’s gone backwards in others.

I don’t really want to get into a policy debate because they are complex issues, but there is inherent hypocrisy in our societies attitude to all drugs, including alcohol. That is what the poem is about.

Here is the revised poem, and I’m still not happy with it. If anyone has some ideas I’m all ears. Is there bits I should remove or bits you don’t understand? Are some of the medications wrong. Constructive criticism please.

And again for my friends overseas, lolly means candy in Australia.

Lolly Logic

a bit tired
coffee, tea
of course

pain
paracetamol, codeine, morphine
good idea

ADHD
amphetamine, methylphenidate
must say yes

giving birth
gas, pethidine, epidural
better say yes

depressed
zoloft, lexapro, prozac
yes, yes, yes

anxious
valium, librium, xanax
without a doubt

can’t sleep
temazepam, nitrazepam, midazolam
no worries

keep sleeping
methylphenidate, sodium oxybate
good idea

bipolar
lithium carbonate, carbomazepine
you’d better say yes

schizophrenic
haloperidol, chlorpromazine, risperidone
we’ll make you say yes

want to party
alcohol
of course!
*

want to relax
cannabis, hash
just say no

too much pain
heroin, morphine, oxycodone
just say no

feeling too up
downers
just say no

feeling too down
uppers
just say no

can’t sleep
benzos, barbs, ludes
just say no

too much sleep
crystal meth, crack
just say no

socially anxious
poppers, XTC, coke
just say no

feeling adventurous
mushrooms, acid, mescaline
just say no

want to party
all of the above
just say no!

*

drugs is drugs is drugs is drugs is drugs is
drugs is drugs is drugs is drugs is drugs is
used for a reason

*

Here is the link to the original Lolly Logic