23 thoughts on “Cartoon Life

  1. Thought you might be the sort of person who would like to live in a cartoon world. I have wanted to ever since I was a young girl. Cheers Gabrielle

  2. Oh wow, I love this poem. Funny and poignant at the same time, and reading it, cartoons I watched as a child replayed themselves in my head. And lolol @ “the threat of marriage often the motivation!” 😀

    • Thanks for visiting the bloggo. I am so happy you liked the poem – they certainly stick in your head, cartoons. My mum didn’t like me watching cartoons so most of the ones I think about were comics, like Tintin. Though I got to see some at the movies – they used to always play a series of cartoons before the main movie. And I used to watch them at friends houses.

  3. I hope you haven’t recently flattened a cat!
    Great concept, but I kept thinking of Homer Simpson saying “Yum, donut!” n use the “Doh!” word alot…
    I jumped over via ThommaLyn’s where you left a comment. I’ll keep reading!

    • Yes – super powers would be mighty handy too – though for some strange reason I always wanted to be Tarzan. Thanks for visiting Brad.

  4. See what happens when you are deprived of things in early life. My reason for absolutely loving animals and especially dogs – because mum didn’t let us have pets. Well done. Great poem. Ta

    • Exactly – you always want what you can’t have! I think this poem is ‘showing my age’ – didn’t realise I have just referred to all the older style cartoons/comics.

  5. OH what a great poem!I know exactly the cartoons of which you write and all the same ‘questions/issues’ of their total lack of disconnect from realistic consequences.
    —ooo a cartoon life indeed!!! thank you

  6. There’s a kind of ambiguity here that’s fascinating. Do we hope for the illusory painless daydream, but are forced to negotiate a life of flesh, its limitations and failures, or are we always getting lost within the animated ideals that most of those glossy magazines and ads fill our heads with. I suppose what I like about this poem is the space it opens to explore our imagined lives getting nudged about by the bones of life. I love the kind of poem that opens you up, rather than close you down. These are the kinds of questions it asks me at least. Beyond all that, there’s just a lot of fun here as well. It’s a delightful poem.

    • Well I am very glad you like it and thanks for stopping by. Why do cartoons fascinate us – young and old? Are we pre-programmed to be attracted to the cartoon face? The questions continue – as they should – anything to stave off Alzheimer.

    • Yes, the Democracy of Lines. That is the style I like – Herge is my favourite – the detail of the scenery, the strength and simplicity of the drawings. I just want to get right in there and be a part of the cartoon – but alas, it is not to be! Thanks for stopping by Ashley.

  7. Reading your poem is like going through my favorite comic books, you describe so well this other world, very surrealistic to me, like the melting clocks of Dali.

    • My life feels a bit surreal a lot of the time – like I’m not sure if I’m awake dreaming or dreaming that I’m awake – that is reflected in my poetry I think. Thanks for taking a look Ben – I wonder if Aletha has had a look at Tintin yet – I just bought some new copies for the kids and they are loving them (my old copies are getting a bit mouldy).

  8. Pingback: Cartoon Life « Gabrielle Bryden's Blog

Leave a Reply

