My poem Realm of the REM received first place in Ripples Magazine’s SPACE poetry competition. This poem, along with Lolly Logic and Mercury Rising were all accepted for publication in the magazines 17th edition (out now).

Ripples is a speculative fiction (SF) magazine that prints Australian fiction, poetry and illustrations. SF, the often marginalised relative of literary fiction, includes horror, fantasy and science fiction. As poetry (and literary fiction) are also marginalised in Australian society – that’s OK.

I was throwing darts in the dark when I submitted these poems, and I had no idea that Ripples was a SF magazine. I also did not enter the competition (which is hilarious) – they must have thought I was entering the competition because my submissions came at the right time.

Ripples was encouraging people to widen the concept of space ‘Yes, the given theme of ‘Space’ is a pretty wide ranging one, I’ll grant you. Don’t just think Kubrick’s ‘Odyssey’ – oh no. There are many kinds of space; like the space between people, or the space around us. ” (ref. Ripples website)

However, I was actually working on a poem about the space (like outer space) and time continuum – for this particular competition, but didn’t finish in time to enter. Imagine my surprise when I got an email saying I had won first prize – which by the way was a lovely pen and notebook wrapped in birthday paper! Thank you Mr Cousins (editor RM) for publishing my stuff. I always thought there was a lot of SPACE between my ears.

Realm of the REM

In the realm of the REM the eyes flitter fretfully;

…………they rest when video clips of the Id are paused.

~

What will inward eyes see in my sleep tonight?

………..Will unfettered views invite horror or delight?

~

It is the battlefield of Dr Jekyll and Mr. Hyde;

…………the victor changing in cyclical clashes of the unconscious.

~

…………Superhero arms slicing through aqua lagoon waters;

……………………rippling muscles rupturing translucent, jelly liquid.

~

………………………………Leaden torso, sluggish arms and dangling, limp legs dragged down

………………………………………..in hideous, murky waters of a slow motion movie.

~

………..Glorious wings of human arms pulsate on a mellifluous airstream;

……………………potent eagle eyes pursue the panorama with exultation.

~

……………………………..Weary, woeful wings struggle to raise a dead weight;

………………………………………..while a cloud of impending doom envelops exposed limbs.

~

The woken world is elated by intoxicating dream residues;

…………or polluted by a putrid, percolating dream shadow.