Light it up Blue for World Autism Awareness Day 2013

Light it up Blue for World Autism Awareness Day 2013

My 12 year old son was diagnosed with autism at the age of 3. He could not communicate and found the world a very difficult place to negotiate. He retreated into a world of obsessive behaviours to cope with the confusion.

He is now 12 and is doing well in a mainstream school in Australia (thanks in part to intensive early intervention at the AEIOU in Brisbane from the ages of three to four).

He loves school, has friends, communicates well and does above average academically. He still has ‘issues’ but we take each day as it comes ;)

If the general public has a good understanding of Autism Spectrum Conditions than life will be that much easier for my son.

My son does not suffer from autism.

He has autism and can suffer from the lack of understanding from other people.

Autism can be described as a diffability, not a disability ;)

Differently abled – but still able!

vive la différence

Which brings me to the Light it up Blue World Autism Awareness Day 2013 which is just around the corner (2nd April).

Why not check out this youtube clip explaining what it is all about.

:)

 

and don’t forget to light it up blue my friends!

_________________________________________

10 thoughts on “Light it up Blue for World Autism Awareness Day 2013

  1. It’s been so long since I’ve been here… I feel so bad, but your blog looks FABULOUS. I love it! Your attitude is so inspiring and I know how much time and effort you have put in to changing other people’s attitudes to autism. Love that you call it diffability. What a fantastic way of putting it!

    • Don’t feel bad – I haven’t been blogging much anyhoo – hahaha – I know how busy you have been with the new store and all (I should fly down and do a review of the store – hahaha – and buy me some records while I’m at it) ;). Glad you like my balloons – it was going to be a temporary change but the theme has grown on me. I do like the term diffability – not sure who came up with that one, maybe Tony Attwood – thanks Selma :)

  2. How well you say it & what a great advocate you are, not only for your son but the community at large. Tomorrow is the day. :)

Leave a Reply

