Sound of Peppermint Bottle

Sound of Peppermint Bottle

Still life, Peppermint Bottle
Cézanne looks; I hear
peppermint bottle

chocolate block
red toffee apple
clip clippety clop

rubber plantation
prelude to power
carnation, lactation

molten glass
tube
salt spray, Esperance

butter batter bitter with a squeeze of lemon

savouring words
sound and association

__________________________________________________________________

Note: Cézanne’s Still Life, Peppermint Bottle is reproduced here from Wikimedia Commons.

NutherNote: I got the idea of this poem from blogging artist extraordinaire Aletha Kuschan. She is a big Cézanne fan and had been inspired by a detail in his Peppermint Bottle to paint apples. Thanks Aletha :)

AndNutherNote: When I was a scruffy school kid I used to write down my favourite words. I think chocolate was at the top of the list (ahhh what a consonant and vowel combination; plus an association with a textured and tasty treat that I was rarely allowed to eat ;) ).

Do you have favourite words?

Do tell!

___________________________________________________________________

21 thoughts on “Sound of Peppermint Bottle

  1. cezanne is one of my favorite painters too, i just loved seeing this again, and the poem is wonderful – it’s a great complement, and a compliment too, to cezanne, to art
    i love ‘coconut’, ‘bliss’, and oddly ‘cellar door’ among many others. i’d be in bliss having chocolate with coconut outside the cellar door :)

    • hahaha – too funny tipota :) I love all your words – cellar door reminds me of celadon which is a favourite word (and colour) of mine. Coconut has wonderful connotations and when I hear it I can smell coconut oil (which then reminds me of being in the sun on a tropical island slathered in coconut oil sunscreen and drinking something tropical from a coconut cup with a straw and tiny umbrella decorations – haha) – ah what bliss ….

  2. How wonderful that Cezanne has inspired your poem. I find a lot of similarity between his work and these words also — in the intensity of each word you’ve chosen in terms of sound and appearance and how they resemble Cezanne’s placement of separated color patches on the canvas, each one very specific and focused and intense. And in their ensemble also a deep structured sensibility and emotion.

    • what a wonderful comment Aletha – 5/5 for that one – and isn’t ensemble are marvellous word which for some reason reminds me of comfy pillows – haha – thank you Aletha (when I run out of ideas I can always look at your blog for them – and Benedicte’s blog and tipota’s blog and Rick’s blog etc., – all the wonderful blogging artists who I have stumbled upon in the blogosphere).

  3. This rolls deliciously on the tongue, like the confections listed.
    I am addicted to alliteration. Simply scrumptious or delightfully delicious are words which of themselves get my taste buds jumping around in excited anticipation.

  4. Ooh, I love the puh and cuh sounds in your poem, and the synaesthetic effect of all the wonderful words in it.
    Growing up in SA, I loved certain words from Zulu – scabenga (ratbag), indaba (business), haibo! (an exclamation which expresses surprise), tokoloshe (a sort of Gollum-like creature bringing bad luck) – and from Afrikaans, my favourite was pantoffel (pronounced puntoffal) which means slipper. My best friend from school used to love saying, “rhododendron” :-) We’re all weird…

    • lots of round vowel sounds there bluebee – love it! Specially love the tokoloshe word – great rhythm; and doesn’t pantoffel have a sweet soft sound to it, like a slipper is soft. Rhododendron shouldn’t be allowed in the English language – hahaha – a tongue twister superbe – now I will be thinking flower names all day ;)

Leave a Reply

