A Lament (from Alan Jones)

I couldn’t resist ;)

A Lament (from Alan Jones)

O net! O web! O slime!
This Merc I drive so fine,
Taken from me, unjustly, I deplore;
Maybe not returned, the glory of my prime?
No more -Oh, I will roar!

Out of this unfair fight
Adverts have taken flight:
Fresh smears, and grief, a twitter war
Move my pale heart to rage, but not contrite
No more -Oh, cease this war!

by Gabrielle Bryden

_______________________________________

My apologies to Percy Shelley ;)

A Lament

O World! O Life! O Time!
On whose last steps I climb,
Trembling at that where I had stood before;
When will return the glory of your prime?
No more -Oh, never more!

Out of the day and night
A joy has taken flight:
Fresh spring, and summer, and winter hoar
Move my faint heart with grief, but with delight
No more -Oh, never more!

by Percy Bysshe Shelley

___________________________________________

For those of you not from the land of Oz – Alan Jones is a piece of work who resides on radio; has a large following and is/was considered a very powerful commentator.

He recently insulted our female Prime Minister with hateful comments about her father who had died not long before. He is used to getting away with all sorts of crude and hateful language, particularly toward women in power.

This time, however, a great many people took umbrage and a social media onslaught has seen all advertising suspended from his talk back show. Mercedes Benz even took his Benz away from him ;) the poor darling!

This is a very interesting and unique turn of events which is revealing the shifting of power in the media terrain; and it’s not over yet …

Here is a link to the story:

21 thoughts on “A Lament (from Alan Jones)

  1. I have held back from writing about Alan Jones, mainly because I could not think of publishable terms that would go even close to doing my opinion justice.
    He is now getting a bit of the burning end of the torch and responds with indignation no less. He is anti women, science, truth and has no shame. His behaviour in the past is right out of a Peter Slipper text message, and his present is blatantly hate-filled sensationalism; all to entertain the pea-brains who listen to him. I will stop now before I say what I really think. :-)

  2. One more thing, GB; I am afraid the ‘social media’ reaction will die down and he will be back nastier than ever. I hope you heard Julia’s spirited and emotional response to the tirade from that other right wing Neanderthal, Tony Abbott,
    We must take responsibility here and keep up the pressure for more debate and less rhetoric from our politicians and force some responsibility onto media shock jocks.
    I note most comments are from our American friends who have a choice to make come November. Yesterday I heard Romney saying there is no need for the US to chase clean energy with all that coal and gas ‘under our feet’. Is impending world wide disaster from climate change not important to him? If the US backs off from the carbon issue there is little point in anyone doing anything except get ready for unprecedented social upheaval and international conflict.

    • There are already some campaigns to ensure the Alan Jones thing doesn’t go off the radar – I’m hoping the pressure is maintained but fear it may not, as other issues push the headline to the back. I watch Julia on the internet – awesome stuff and it went viral around the world, though our own media was strangely silent on the whole thing (typical really). My boy Michael asked me if he could watch that video with the PM again – haha – and then he said ‘isn’t that Tony Abbott sexist Mum.’ The run up to the US election is making me get indigestion.

Leave a Reply

